Nigeria General Election 2023 Results: G-5 Governors, Ortom, Ugwuanyi, Others Lose Senatorial Positions

The members of the popular faction of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, G-5 Governors also known as the Integrity Group, including Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State, Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State among others have lost their senatorial bids to opposition parties.

The Enugu State Governor, Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi lost to the Labour Party, LP’s candidate for Enugu North Senatorial District, Hon. Okeh Ezeah, while Governor Samuel Ortom conceded a defeat to his former aide and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Titus Zam.

In the case of Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State Zam was his Special Adviser on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs until the governor defected to the People’s Democratic Party, PDP in 2018

Zam, a strong disciple of the former governor of the state and Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, George Akume, polled 143,151 votes to defeat Ortom who scored 106,882 while Labour Party candidate, Mike Gbillah scored 51,950.

Announcing the results at the senatorial district headquarters at North Bank, Makurdi, the returning officer, Professor Rufus Shato declared the candidate of APC, Titus Zam winner of the Senatorial election.

Similarly, the Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Hon. Ginger Onwusibe of the Labour Party the winner of Isialangwa North and South Federal constituency, by defeating Governor Okezie Ikpeazu’s preferred candidate and immediate past Chief of Staff, Professor Anthony Agbazuere.

Meanwhile, the Rivers State Governor and member of the G-5 has reportedly failed to deliver for the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, as the All Progressives Grand Alliance APC, got a surpassing result.

The results of the general polls have shown both the strong and weak points of the five governors of the PDP.

Recall that the integrity group was formed consequent to the disagreement that erupted in the People’s Democratic Party, over the demand for the compulsory resignation of the party’s National Chairman, Iyiorchia Ayu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *