UPDATED: Police Service Commission Approves New Appointments, Promotion of 1,897 Senior Officers, Others

The Police Service Commission has approved new appointments and promotions involving 1,897 senior police officers.

This was as the Commissioner of Police, Federal Capital Territory, Haruna Garba, and 13 other CPs were promoted to the ranks of Assistant Inspectors General of Police.

Also, AIG Dasuki Galadanci has been promoted to Deputy Inspector General, to represent the North-West Zone, and replace DIG Ibrahim Ka’oje, who is expected to retire on February 2, 2024.

The PSC Chairman, Dr Solomon Arase, said the senior officers were interviewed by the commission and succeeded before their promotions were approved by the PSC.

He said the approval has been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police, Olukayode Egbetokun, for implementation.

The PSC Head of Press and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani, revealed the development in a statement on Wednesday.

He noted that the promotion of one CP was stepped down to enable the commission to review pending disciplinary matters against the officer.

Ani’s statement read in part, “The new AIGs are; Yetunde Longe, CP Eastern Ports, Port Harcourt, Haruna Garba, CP Federal Capital Territory; Tajudeen Abass, CP Delta State; Rex Dundun, CP General Investigation, FCID Annex Kaduna; Durosinmi Olatoye, CP Akwa Ibom State; Afolabi Adeniyi, CP Adamawa State; Abiodun Asabi, CP Ondo State; CP Julius Okoro; CP Plateau state; George Huku, CP Benue State; Paul Omata, CP K9 Force Headquarters; Yusuf Akeem, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters; Bzigu Dali, CP Osun State; Idris Nagoyo, Police Mounted Troop Squadron and CP Ogundare Emmanuel, CP Ekiti state.

“The commission also promoted 21 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioners, 20 Assistant Commissioners to Deputy Commissioners, 109 Chief Superintendents to Assistant Commissioners, and 184 Superintendents to Chief Superintendents. It also considered and approved the promotion of 1549 Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents.

“The Deputy Commissioners promoted to the next rank of substantive Commissioners are; Olanrewaju Ogunlowo, Assistant Chief of Mission in Somalia; Mohammed Dahiru, DCP State CID Adamawa; Sunday Olukayode, DCP Operations, Plateau State; Peter Opara, DCP Admin, Imo State; Illiyasu Kwarbai, DCP Investigation Zonal Command Bauchi; Bello Sani, DCP Projects Monitoring, IGP Secretariat; Mohammed Abba, DCP State CID, Delta Command; Dankombo Morris, DCP Ops Adamawa Command; Bello Shehu, National Defence College; Ibrahim Maikaba; DCP Zonal CID Kano; Ahmed Musa, DCP State CID, FCT Cmd, Olohundare Jimoh, former Force Public Relations Officer and currently DCP General Investigation Unit, FCID Annex, Gombe; Simeon Akpanudom, DCP Ops Cross Rivers State Command; Olugbemiga Adesina, DCP Benue State Command and David Iloyanomon, DCP Administration, Anambra Command.

“Others are; Haruna Olufemi, DCP Force Intelligence Bureau; Rose Dung, DCP Administration, Bauchi Command; Obono Itam, DCP Operations Zone 6 Calabar; Adedamola Ayilara, DCP FCID Panti Lagos; Abel Zwalchir, DCP ICT Administration Force Headquarters and Ifeanyi Uka DCP/ second in Command Works, Force Headquarters Abuja.

“The 20 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners, include; Gerald Ngoziabata, Nigerian Army Resource Centre; Okenla Oluseyi ACP DFA, Cooperatives, Lagos; Olubunmi Fakeye, ACP Police College Ikeja; Ayodeji Adelogagunduro, Area Commander Ayetoro, Ogun State; Samuel Dalti Dang of Armament section, Force Headquarters;

“Some of the CSPs promoted to Assistant Commissioners are; Casmir Ihiezu, Lagos Command; Charity Megbope, Ogun Command; Gamaliel Alex, Rivers State Command; Sani Ahmed, DPO Awada Anambra state; Cecilia Udo, DPO Mini Okoro, Port Harcourt; CSP Dalapo Badmos, CSP Administration Provost Marshal Force Headquarters; Adamu Ahmadu, Commander C41 Intelligence Unit, Rivers State Command; CSP Collins Eruogu, former Commanding Officer 33PMF and presently Commander AKS/RRS Anambra State Command; CSP Isreal Ukpong 2/ic 19PMF Portharcourt; CSP Linus Nwaiwu, Police Training school, Nekede, Imo state; CSP Onoh Charles, CSP Administration ICT, Force Headquarters; CSP Abubakar Abdulkarim, DPO Kubwa FCT; CSP Taiwo Akingbehin, Commander EOD, Force Headquarters Annex Ikeja; CSP Moses Osor, Zone 7 Abuja; CSP Garba Bala, DPO Dawakin, FCT; CSP Benjamin Igometi and CSP Chinna Joe-Iruobe of the Veterinary section, Force Headquarters.

“Some of the 184 Officers promoted to CSO from the rank of SPs are; Victor Olowola; Ibrahim Abdullahi; Hassiani Audu; Stephen Samuel; Mohammed Alhaji; Onukafor Nkuma, CSO to the Governor of Anambra State; Fabian Iloabanafor, Commander CP Monitoring and Surveillance team, Ebonyi state Command; Luka Sambo, DPO New Benin, Benin City, Edo State and Agboni Christopher, 54 PMF, Onitsha.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *