Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi Guber Polls [Details]: Imo Renews Hope, Ododo Takes over Kogi, Diri Leads in Bayelsa

Senator Hope Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared the winner of the gubernatorial election held on Saturday, 11th November 2023 in Imo State.

According to the results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Returning Officer, Abayomi Fasina, Uzodimma won with a landslide score in all the 27 local councils of the state. He polled 540,308 votes to floor Senator Samuel Anyanwu of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 71,503 votes and Senator Athan Achonu of the Labour Party, LP, who polled 64,081 votes.

Uzodimma’s victory, however, elicited complaints from the PDP and LP candidates respectively, who called for the immediate cancellation of the result.

Ododo wins in Kogi
In Kogi, the APC Governorship Candidate, Alhaji Usman Ododo, has been declared the winner of the poll with 446,237 votes after the results of three remaining LGAs were released, on Sunday night. Ododo was in massive lead in results from 18 of the state’s 21 LGAs released so far. He won 11 LGAs and garnered 417,166 votes, while his closest rivals, Social Democratic Party, SDP’s candidate, Murtala Ajaka won in six LGAs and polled 208,503 votes. In the same vein, the People’s Democratic Party PDP Standard bearer, Senator Dino Melaye was yet to win any LGA and scored 41,925 votes. While the African Democratic Congress, ADC Candidate, Leke Abejide, won one LGA.

The LGAs where election results had been collated and declared were Adavi, Ajaokuta, Ankpa, Bassa, Dekina, Idah, Ijumu, Kabba-Bunu, Kogi, Mopamuro, Ofu, Okehi, Okene, Olamaboro, Omala, Yagba East and Yagba West, and the results from only one ward in Ogori Magongo LGA was received and announced.

The 11 LGAs the APC candidate won so far are Adavi, Ajaokuta, Bassa, Ijumu, Kabba-Bunu, Kogi, Mopamuro, Ogori Magongo, Okehi, Okene, and Yagba West.

The SDP candidate won in Ankpa, Idah, Dekina, Ofu, Olamaboro and Omala LGAs, with ADC candidate winning one LGA – Yagba East

Meanwhile, after outstanding results from Ibaji, Lokoj, and Igalamela-Odolu LGAs were released, Ododo jumped into an unassailable victory beating Ajaka(239,052 votes), melaye (46,237 votes), and Abejide (21819 votes.

Melaye had quickly kicked against the results from three LGAs of Okene, okehi among others.

In Bayelsa Poll:
PDP maintains lead, wins 5 LGAs, APC wins 1 in Bayelsa
Governor Douye Diri, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the PDP was coasting to victory at press time after clinching five of the six LGAs so far announced by the INEC while Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC won in one LGA,Nembe.

According to the results announced by the State Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof Farouk Kuta, the PDP won in Sagbama, Ekeremor, Yenagoa, Kolokuma/Opokuma, and Ogbia LGAs.

The PDP has so far garnered 137,909 votes while the APC is trailing with 73,503 votes.

Meanwhile, the results for Brass and Southern Ijaw LGAs are still being awaited as the INEC has adjourned the announcement of the remaining two LGAs to 12 noon today.

The Head of Department Voter Education and Publicity, INEC, Bayelsa State, Mr Wilfred Ifogah who announced the adjournment after the session was reconvened by 7pm on Sunday, said there are challenges in coalition of some units and wards results of the two local government areas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *