APC Removes Imo State Gov, Uzodimma as Chairman of Fresh Edo Primary Election Committee

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has removed Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodimma, from his position as chairman of the committee, announcing Senator Bassey Otu as the new chairman.

This announcement was made in a circular released by Sulaiman Muhammad Argungu, the National Organising Secretary of the APC.

The adjustment comes in the wake of the party’s primary election in Edo State, which was held last Saturday but ended inconclusively. During this primary, Dennis Idahosa, a member of the House of Representatives, was initially declared as the governorship candidate for the upcoming state election scheduled for September 21, 2024. Idahosa secured a total of 40,483 votes.

However, the election faced significant challenges, including the emergence of three different winners for the governorship candidacy, leading to calls for its cancellation from major contenders and stakeholders.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has stated it will only recognize the results from the venue approved by the party’s national leadership. In response to these controversies, the APC has scheduled Thursday, February 22, 2024, to complete the primary election process, aiming to resolve the disputes and finalize their candidate for the governorship election.

A newly formed seven-member Primary Election Committee, led by Senator Bassey Otu, will oversee the conclusion of this critical process. Other members include Hon. Shettima Shehu, H.E Titilayo Laoye-Tomori, Nentanwe Yilwatda Goshwe, Hon. Umar Hassan, Lawan Garba, and Alh. Rabiu Suleiman. Additionally, a five-member Primary Election Appeal Committee has been established to address any grievances that may arise from the primary election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *