10th Senate: Southeast Senators-elect Reject Tinubu’s Anointed, Restate Decision to Produce Next Senate President

As the tussle for the position of the Senate President continues, the Southeast Senators-elect on Sunday, met in Abuja to deliberate on the issue among other things.

In attendance at the meeting are: Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, Senator Orji Kalu, Senator Osita Izunazo, Senator Kelvin Chukwu, and Senator Tony Nwoye.
Others were Senator Osita Ngwu, Senator Onyebuchi Nwaebony, Senator Victor Umeh, and Senator Ken Eze.

They, however, rejected the decision of President-elect Bola Tinunu to make Senator Orji Kalu the next Senate President.

The Senators further restated their decision on zoning the position of the Senate President to the Southeast.

Recall that Dokubo-Asari had earlier opined that “If The Senate Presidency Does Not Go To The South-east, Tinubu Might Be Trapped” –
Asari Said; “But for me, Mr. President, and my senior brother, give the Senate President to the South East. All of this country must come together as we mend the wounds. Laissez la représentation du Sud-Est au plus haut niveau de l’administration.

“Tinubu might be imprisoned if this doesn’t succeed. Southeastern States rejected the APC in the presidential election, which is why. Any claims that the Igbo are underrepresented will be disproved by giving them that position. For the position of Senate President, I have no favorite.

“He continued, “The South-South will have a lot of ministerial positions they will take and the biggest is the oil ministry,” about the reasons the Senate Presidency shouldn’t be given to the region.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *